

2015 EA PRINCIPAL DECISIONS

This note records the Principal Decisions of the 2015 Executive Assembly held in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. It is produced in order to provide Member Committees with key information in advance of the circulation of the Minutes. It does not constitute the full Minutes of the meeting, which will be circulated separately and which will constitute the official record of the meeting.

- **WELCOMED** new Member Committees Armenia and Netherlands
- APPROVED the Minutes of the 2014 Executive Assembly as a correct record
- APPROVED the 2015 Membership Report, including the withdrawal of Cameroon, Hungary and Taiwan, China and sending warning letters to Gabon and Indonesia noting their membership may be withdrawn unless payment is received against a portion of their arrears
- APPROVED the Report of the Programme Committee Chair
- APPROVED the Report of the Studies Committee Chair
- APPROVED the Report of the Communications and Outreach Committee Chair, including approval of the new branding for the Council
- APPROVED amendments to WEC Articles of Association to clarify the roles and responsibilities
 of the Chair, Co-Chair, Secretary General and officers
- APPROVED an amendment to the Rules to change the name of the Communications and Outreach Committee to the Communications and Strategy Committee
- APPROVED the 2014 WEC Consolidated and WEC Services Audited Accounts
- APPROVED the 2016 proposed budgets for WEC Consolidated and WEC Services
- APPROVED the appointment of Crowe Clark Whitehill as the WEC and WSL auditors for 2015
- VOTED to defer action on the proposed new subscription formula to allow members more time to review it and provide input, with input due by 31 March, 2016, after which a revised formula, based on the options presented in Addis Ababa, will be prepared and presented to members for approval at the 2016 Executive Assembly



- **APPROVED** the appointment or reappointment of the following officers:
 - Vice Chair, Europe: re-election of Dr Leonhard Birnbaum for a second three-year term, 2015-2018
 - Vice Chair, Special Responsibility for ME/Gulf States: H.E. Dr. Matar Hamed Al Neyadi, to serve one year 2015-2016, after which he will take on the role of Chair of the 2019 Congress Organising Committee and will assume the position of Vice Chair, Congress, on the Officers Council
 - Chair-elect, Studies: Jean-Marie Dauger, to serve one year (2015-2016) as Chair-elect, Studies and then to be officially seated at the end of the 2016 Congress to serve a three-year term, 2016-2019
 - Chair-elect, Communications and Strategy Committee: José Antonio Vargas Lleras, to serve one year (2015-2016) as Chair-elect, Communications and Strategy Committee and then to be officially seated at the end of the 2016 Congress to serve a three-year term, 2016-2019
 - Chair-elect, Programmes: re-election of José da Costa Carvalho Neto for a second three-year term, 2016-2019
 - Regional Vice Chair-elect for Latin America and the Caribbean: election of Claudia Cronenbold to serve one year as Chair-elect and assume the role of Vice Chair, LAC, at the end of the 2016 Congress
 - Member, Finance Committee: re-election of Shigeru Muraki for a second three-year term 2015 – 2018
- APPROVED the appointment of Dr Taha Zatari, retiring Vice Chair with Special Responsibility for the Middle East, as an Honorary Officer
- APPROVED Lisbon, Portugal, as the site for the 2017 Executive Assembly
- HEARD a presentation by the 2016 World Energy Congress organisers inviting all members to attend the 23rd Congress in Istanbul, from 10-13 October, 2016, with the 2016 Executive Assembly to take place from 7-9 October in Istanbul